Heaven and hell

I was told
You should love
You should know
How it feels
It is an experience
It cannot be taught
It cannot be learnt from books.

I was told
Love is sweet
It fills the heart and
Lightens the spirit
It drives men into
The wild
It drives them wild and
Yet love is safe.

I was told
Stories of great love affairs
I was told …
But why so many tragedies
I wondered
In my wise silence.

I was told
Love is great
I tried to believe but
Then I met you
I found
Love to be heaven
Then you left me
I found
Love to be hell.

I was told
Many lies
I was left
Without a soul
Breathless
In heaven and hell
Like a quantum dot
Of being
Between your eyes and lips
Wondering
What happened to my heaven
And where has gone
My sole soulmate
You.

I was told
Love is experience
That is so great a pursuit
I was told
Many lies
But you were true
Heaven and hell
Of my soul.

Where are
You?

April 15, 2017

About alaindesade

Novelist, songwriter and philosopher. Has special interest in human relations, evolution of mind, inter-cultural complications, and the concept of God.
This entry was posted in Friendship, Love Poems, Philosophy, Philosophy of Love, poem, poetry, reflections, Relationships, romance and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

