Metaphors and rhymes

If you want to be a poet
Your speech should be filled with metaphors
If you want to write a song
Your lines should rhyme like church bells
If you want to pay the bills
You are either intellectual professor
With many published yet unread poems
Or
A singer songwriter touring the scene
Pleasing the crowd with rhyming songs
And dance tunes
Your soul? Committed to its creator
In the land of nought!

So I was told
The cynical truth
But who made it true
But our belief in what we made fact
I choose to be
A heretic of poetry and songs
A heretic of conventional wisdom
A heretic of accepting what came before
I sing my poor poems
Poor in metaphors
I rhyme nothing
For no two
No matter how similar
Are the same,
Replacement equality is
A delusion I refuse.

No metaphors
No rhymes
No me
No you
Just a crazed passion
Allowed to draw
A picture on a paper
A face resembles you
Still not you
What is true?

No metaphors
No rhymes
No me
Nor you
Can be alone
No me
No you
I miss you

No metaphors
No rhymes
No heretics
Beliefs have decayed
Long time ago.

So …

What remains now?

April 15, 2017

About alaindesade

Novelist, songwriter and philosopher. Has special interest in human relations, evolution of mind, inter-cultural complications, and the concept of God.
This entry was posted in Disappointment, Friendship, Love Poems, Philosophy, Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Love, Philosophy of Mind, poem, poetry, psychology, reflections, Relationships, romance and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

